Financial and business news from Bulgaria

Austria bans flights from Bulgaria and 9 more countries from 15 to July 31

Austrian authorities banned passenger flights from Bulgaria and 9 other countries from July 15th to 31st because of the spread of the new coronavirus, TASS reported.
The decision was published that night by decree of the Austrian Ministry of Social Care, Health and Consumer Protection, BTA reported.

The decree prohibits flights from Egypt, Serbia, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Romania and Moldova.

Until 31 July, the ban on passenger flights from Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Great Britain, Iran, China, Portugal and Sweden is also extended.

The decision of the Austrian authorities removed the Italian province of Lombardy from the prohibition list.

The decree does not apply to cargo flights, repatriation flights, sanitary aviation and flights related to Austrian State interests.

In June, Austria announced the opening of its borders to 32 European countries and the resumption of air links. However, on July 1, for the first time since May, the daily number of newly established coronavirus cases in Austria exceeded 100 people. By then for two months this indicator was within 30-40 people. Health Minister Rudolf Anchober expressed concern about the development of the situation, and in some Austrian regions the requirement for mandatory wearing of a mask in public buildings was returned.


Related news